Our goal is that our clients always understand the law and procedure surrounding their case. DWI cases are especially complex. There are many issues regarding the defendant's driver's license as well as the evidence against the defendant. See below some of the common questions we get about DWI in Louisiana.
Q: The officer took my license. Can I drive?
A: If you had a valid driver's license at the time of the arrest, you should be able to drive for 30 days on a temporary license the officer gave you. However, we are often able to get that extended.
Q: I refused the breathalyzer. What is the penalty?
A: On a first refusal, the suspension period is one year for a refusal if the driver is at least 21 years old. We try to fight the suspension by holding an administrative hearing.
Q: What is an administrative hearing for my license?
A: You have 30 days from the date of arrest to request an administrative hearing regarding the State's proposed suspension of your driver's license for refusal or submittal over the limit. We do this for our clients after being hired if hired within that time frame.
Q: Do I need a lawyer for a DWI?
A: There are many overlapping issues regarding a DWI in Louisiana. These are very complicated cases if you want the best results. If you do not care about understanding what is happening in your case or minimizing the impact, then go at it alone. We provide great assistance for our clients so they know what and why everything is happening.
Q: When does a DWI become a felony?
A: DWI third offense in Louisiana is a felony punishable by 1-5 years in prison. DWI fourth offense is punishable by 10-30 years in prison. DWI first and second offenses are misdemeanors.
If you have any other questions, please feel free to give us a call or email.